Nevada is a state where firearms are nominally more lenient for both owners and sellers. However, its regulations for breaking gun ownership and usage laws are stringent, especially for repeat offenders. Getting arrested in Las Vegas for violating firearms regulations can lead to heavy fines and other serious penalties.
These firearms laws don’t just apply to local residents. If you are coming from out-of-state and you happen to own guns, you must abide by Nevada’s firearm rules if you don’t want to face the legal consequences. Let’s look at some basic firearms rules for out-of-state visitors in Nevada.
Reviewing Firearm Rules
Let’s have an overview of Nevada’s gun laws. As an open-carry state, firearm owners in Nevada are free to display their guns in public without a permit (concealed carry ‘shall-issue’ rules still apply). There is also no state permit requirement to purchase firearms, subject to the results of a background check. There is also no listed regulation regarding most long arms and magazine capacity restrictions.
Take note that Nevada has complete preemption of most local firearm laws. That means that it is illegal for local government units down to the town level to enact tougher gun regulations than what is listed in the NRS. However, some local ordinances may regulate firearm discharging within their domains depending on certain circumstances. Federal laws can also preempt both state and local rules if the situation demands, such as for grandfathered weapons under the NFA.
The Rules for Out-of-Towners
As a general rule, all firearms laws in Nevada also apply to out-of-state visitors to the letter. You can still buy a gun (provided you pass the background check), but you will need to go through your own state’s firearms purchasing process if you wish to bring your gun home. Minimum age rules also apply to younger people owning and using guns, though hunting rules may also take effect here.
While concealed carry rules apply to both locals and out-of-towners, the latter will need to provide a CCW permit from their home state before they can do so within Nevada. In addition, their home state must have a reciprocal agreement with Nevada for their own CCW permits to remain valid here. States with reciprocity to Nevada include:
- Idaho (Enhanced Permits)
- Mississippi (Enhanced Permits)
- New Mexico
- North Dakota (Class 1 only)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (Enhanced Permits)
- Utah (both types of permits)
- West Virginia
As stated above, Nevada has stringent penalties for violators of state firearm laws. The state has a ‘red flag’ rule that allows law enforcement to confiscate firearms from people deemed to be a safety risk. Out-of-towners can also face serious punishment if they are part of the people that are restricted from owning guns, as well as open-carrying in certain locations within Nevada.
Most of the really serious firearms laws that out-of-state visitors already start as felonies, with extended prison time and high fees. For example:
- Concealed carrying without a permit from the home state can lead to at least five years in prison and a maximum of $10,000 in fines.
- Restricted individuals who own firearms can face up to six years and at least $5,000 in fines.
- Visitors carrying machine guns and other weapons listed under the NFA can be incarcerated for 10 years and will have to pay up to $250,000 in fees. Bump stocks and guns registered before 19 May 1986 are still legal, however.
- Minor offenders come under the jurisdiction of Nevada juvenile courts.
Out-of-state visitors must always follow Nevada state rules if they wish to carry their firearms into the state. If you believe that you have been wrongfully charged with relation to the local gun laws, however, you can always rely on a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney to help you out.